How Are You? do you speak the truth?

Image result for how are you?

How Are You?

Sometimes people ask you the question, “how are you doing?” and you sometimes don’t speak the truth. You say that you are fine and well but deep down inside you are troubled like hell.

And sometimes you wonder if people really want to know the truth or they just ask because it’s a kind thing to do.

At times you might even feel confuse because you just don’t know how to answer so the easiest thing for you to do is to say that, “everything is good.”

When in fact you may be:

  • heartbroken
  • clueless
  • on the verge of tears
  • lonely
  • confuse
  • annoy

But because you do not want to be a burden to anyone or even bother to explain your sorrows you just take the easiest way out by saying,”I’m good, thank you.”

How Should You Answer?

So what should you do? how should you answer?

Speak the truth; be honest with your answer.

See if they would really stop to listen; see if they really care because to tell the truth many people do not really care they just ask because it’s the norm.

On the other hand there are people who are  really concern about your well-being and who really want to know how you are doing, so speak the truth.

Tell them like it is. If you are truly happy say it and if you are very sad say it. If they really care they will listen.

#oneloVe…Dehan

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “How Are You? do you speak the truth?”

  1. The truth shall set you free. You’re absolutely right, Dehan. Sometimes people ask how you’re doing, but they don’t even wait for the response. I see it at work. I’ll say, “Good morning, how are you?” As I’m asking, they’re asking the same thing while continuing to walk. Hahahaha…that speaks volumes. My experience has been that people who really know and love us will be able to tell whether we answer truthfully or not. May blessings abound in your life! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well, I think to some extent, we say it for the sake of saying it. There is no true intention of getting how you really are, especially to peogle we are not familiar with, but with my friends, I try to get them to tell me what’s bothering them.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It’s a sad state of affairs, when no-one says how they really feel. It starts the conversation on a lie and everything that follows is probably the same. Some people care, and it is up to us to find those people and keep them in our lives. I don’t usually say ‘how are you’ but rather “good to see you” – it opens the conversation on a different note, and shows I am interested in the answer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. People do not want to know how you are, happy or sad. I think that is why we here in the UK talk about the Weather so much rather than ask “how are you”.

    When my Husband died back in 1994 and I had two young Sons, I found that there were people, even neighbours who would avoid my eyes rather than ask how the Boys or myself were. Except for one neighbour, who on the day my Husband was Cremated he did ask one question of me “now David is dead you going to find yourself someone else”, I never answered him, all these long years later there is still no one else. Interesting.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hello Dehan,

    My friends and had this discussion once. “How are you?” has become a greeting not a question to ask how you really are. It is sad that we really don’t care. we are preoccupied with our lives and problems, we don’t want to listen. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. You’re absolutely right we do just say I’m ok as stated because it’s the norm. Recently I was cornered by a family member that observed that I had withdrew from almost everyone and finally I asked are you prepared to hear the truth. I did regurgitate it freed my spirit and released my soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah..I was asked the question on Friday, and I really wanted to speak the truth but I just said “ok.” Looking back now I realized that there’s no harm in telling the truth..
      Thanks for your input, hope you are having a lovely Sunday.

      Liked by 1 person

Hey Beautiful You! What's on your mind?

