To be exalted or to be humbled? which do you prefer?

It’s ok to celebrate

It’s a very estatic feeling when we have acquired a major acheivement or even a minor accomplishment. We feel overjoyed and feel the need to celebrate. Everyone does that.

And it’s quite alright for us to celebrate our victories and accomplishments no matter how big or how small they are. We can even talk about it for days with friends and families; there’s no harm in doing so.

Hey, sometimes we need to sound our own trumpet; there’s really no harm in us sounding our own trumpet. Moreover, if we don’t, who will?

But we should know when to stop!

Why?

Because we do not want to be viewed as Boasters.

Furthermore, there’s no need for us to be constantly reminding people about our acheivements. There’s no need for us to be telling them over and over about what we can do or how great we are.

Rather, it is better for us to be humble because overtime our excessive chatter will become boring and annoying to others. Let others see the greatness in us for themselves and praise us with their own lips.

Let someone else praise you and not your own mouth; a stranger and not your own lips.

Proverbs 27 vs 2

That’s what the bible said and you can read it for yourself.

We Are not better than anyone

Now, did you know that when we are humble our importance is more likely to be observed? Of course, but not only that, being humble shows that we do not consider ourselves to be better off or higher than another person.

Additionally, the bible tells us that no man on this earth is higher than another because in the eyes of God we all are one.

We should also bear in mind that everything we have, all our accomplishments…every single thing we own were given to us as a gift from God. And if God can be good to us he can be good to others as well.

So why should we boast? Seriously….think about it.

The things we boast about are not forever

I do agree that sometimes we boast without even realizing it, I am guilty of that pleasure too. But I do not believe anything is wrong with that, because we all are human.

When it’s wrong is when we are doing it knowingly with the intention to show off, or to make others feel badly about themselves. I believe that’s when it is wrong and we should try and resist the temptation of doing so.

You see, what we need to realize is that the materialistic things we boast about will not last forever. Likewise, if we believe that we are too high we can easily be cut down. Remember, it is God who gives and it takes nothing for him to take away, so bear this in mind.

Today we can bloom like a beautiful flower bursting with glory and tomorrow just like that our bloom can fade away, and like a passing shadow we can quickly disappear…bear this in mind too.

Be Humble

So my friends, let us be humble in everything we do. Let us focus more on brotherly and sisterly love instead of trying to exalt ourselves because it is also stated in the bible that:

“those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

Luke 14 vs 11

Which do you prefer? To be humbled or to be exalted?

I know that you have all answered, “to be exalted.”

Well then, just remember that there’s no need for you to draw excessive attention to yourself . Your light will shine by itself and others will see it and get to know and love you.

Just be humble.

Amen!


Now, tell me. Have you ever come in contact with anyone who you consider to be a boaster? How did you know that he/she was boasting and how did you feel?

Me:  I’ve come in contact with a lot of people who are boasters. They don’t give chances for questions to be asked; they just keep on chatting and chatting about themselves which made me feel annoyed and uncomfortable so I just keep on nodding my head…

How about you, apart from celebrating your accomplishments have you ever find yourself boasting? If so, how did you know that you were boasting?

Me:  I caught myself boasting and I knew I was boasting because when I got home and thought about it, it felt wrong.

I would really love to hear YOUR thoughts, just leave them in the comment box below.

#oneloVe….Dehan

Boast Not

Oh, here is a joke to brighten your day…

A man knocked on his friend’s door he was supposed to have dinner with but found out that his friend wasn’t there. So, he left a sign on the door that had Revelation 3:20 which read:

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come to him and will sup with him, and he with me.”

Then he left.

Later, getting out of the shower, the friend saw the sign and smiled under his breath and went to put a sign on his door that had Genesis 3:10 which read: 

“And he said, I heard thy voice in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked; and I hid myself.” :D

Lol, this joke was taken from: http://www.christianforums.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “To be exalted or to be humbled? which do you prefer?”

  1. Well Dehan!
    You have put something to scratch my head.
    I may not answer to you fully right now, but all you have said is right.
    We need not tell much about ourselves but our deeds shall speak.
    But it is necessary to convey.
    What you have said of the flower; I have just published one post on that, maybe it shall match to your thoughts, you may read “Shower Happiness”. So, now I convey.
    I shall come again to read posts, I promise.
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

Hey Beautiful You! What's on your mind?

